Category Archives: Databases

New Resource: Roper iPoll

The GSU Library is pleased to announce that we now have access to Roper iPoll! The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, founded in 1947 and containing public opinion survey data from 1935 and after, is operated out of Cornell … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, New Resources | 2 Comments

Join Us for Open Education Week, March 1-5

Open Education Week is an annual event celebrated around the world to promote open sharing and other open practices. This week brings increased awareness to open content and issues surrounding education access, pedagogical effectiveness, and more. Each year, the corpus … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 3.67 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students | Tagged , , , | 8 Comments

Tuesday Tips: Connecting Google Scholar to GSU Resources

Welcome to “Tuesday Tips”, useful tidbits to help you get the most out of the GSU Library’s resources. Do you like how easy it is to search with Google, but want to see which articles and books you can get … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, Instruction | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

New Database: Sex and Sexuality

Photograph from landing page of Sex and Sexuality showing crowd of people with banner.

We’re pleased to announce that the GSU Library now provides access to the Adam Matthew Digital primary resource database Sex and Sexuality.  Sex and Sexuality has two modules. Module I contains the digitized research collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections, including … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (8 votes, average: 3.38 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, New Resources, Primary Resources, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies | Tagged , | 82 Comments

National History Day @ GSU Library

This fall we are opening our doors to the National History Day community.  On October 6th and October 20th, Georgia State University Library is participating in NHD Georgia’s Research Roundup events.  National History Day is an academic program and competition … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, History, Primary Resources, Special Collections & Archives | Comments Off on National History Day @ GSU Library

New Resources: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 15, 2018)

image of Martin Luther King Jr. made up of smaller photos of service activities

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day is a federal holiday designated by Congress in 1994 as a day of service. The holiday falls on the third Monday of January, and will be observed on January 15 this year. Because King’s birthday … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 4.40 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, Primary Resources, Videos | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on New Resources: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 15, 2018)

Hurricane Research at the GSU Library

Workers fix a broken traffic light in Savannah, GA after Hurricane David in 1979.

Hurricanes destroy property and take lives, but they also inspire many research topics. Storm related questions include: Does climate change mean more and stronger storms? Is the Saffir-Simpson scale of hurricane intensity accurate? What is the human cost of living … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 4.25 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Books, Databases, Ejournals, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

2017 Edition of Journal Citation Reports

The 2017 edition of Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is now available. 2017 data is for the previous JCR year, 2016, and includes 132 new journals. Journal Citation Reports data is extracted from Web of Science content. Click here to download … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, Publications and Research | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on 2017 Edition of Journal Citation Reports

Gerontology Lecture: “Remembering the Good Times: A Caregiver’s Journey”

The GSU Gerontology Institute is hosting its annual Barbara Pittard Payne Lectureship in Gerontology on Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 6:00pm at Centennial Hall: “Remembering the Good Times: A Caregiver’s Journey,” by Bern Nadette Stanis, best known as Thelma Evans from the … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, Gerontology, Videos | Comments Off on Gerontology Lecture: “Remembering the Good Times: A Caregiver’s Journey”

New Resources: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 16, 2017)

mlklogo

Martin Luther King, Jr., Day falls on Monday, January 16, this year. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day is a federal holiday designated by Congress in 1994 as a day of service. The holiday falls on the third Monday of January; … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, Digital Collections, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, New Resources, Primary Resources, Videos | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on New Resources: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 16, 2017)