Category Archives: Databases

“Bringing Data into the Classroom with ICPSR” Webinar

ICPSR logo

Faculty and instructors, have you been asking yourself this question: “Really? It’s time to teach [insert class name] again? How can I spice that up?” Why not use data! Students learn quantitative skills, you have an easy way of adding … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Data Services, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, Instruction | 1 Comment

Black History Month: Visualizing Black History

February 1st

In honor of Black History Month (February), the Google Art Project is hosting African-American historical image collections from over fifty collections and institutions, including curated exhibits and individual images from these institutions, among others: Schomburg Center for Research in Black … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, Digital Collections, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

New Resources: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, January 18, 2016

mlklogo

January 18 is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, a federal holiday designated by Congress in 1994 as a national day of service. First established in 1983 after a long struggle, the holiday falls on the third Monday of January, close … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, Primary Resources | Tagged , , | Comments Off on New Resources: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, January 18, 2016

In Memoriam: Pierre Boulez, French Conductor and Composer

There is sad news for the music world today. World-renowned French conductor and composer Pierre Boulez has passed away at age 90. Boulez is perhaps best known in the United States as the music director of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra during the 1970s; … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Books, Databases, For Faculty, Music | Comments Off on In Memoriam: Pierre Boulez, French Conductor and Composer

New Resource: AmericasBarometer

AmericasBarometer

The GSU community now has access to AmericasBarometer, a comparative survey that measures values, behaviors, and socio-economic conditions in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. A creation of the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) at Vanderbilt University, … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, General News, New Resources, Political Science | 1 Comment

New Resource: PolicyMap

PolicyMap

With the growing importance of geospatial technology and geographic datasets across all disciplines, the University Library is pleased to offer the Georgia State University community access to PolicyMap. PolicyMap is one of the largest collections of US public geodatasets and … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Anthropology, Applied Linguistics and ESL, Business, Communication, Criminal Justice, Databases, Economics, Education, Educational Policy Studies, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, Geosciences, Government Information, Journalism, Marketing, New Resources, Nursing, Nutrition, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Management & Policy, Real Estate, Religious Studies, Resources, Risk Management & Insurance, Social Work, Sociology, Uncategorized, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies | 2 Comments

Observing Juneteenth

Audience at Juneteenth Celebration and Black Music Month, Atlanta, Georgia, June 20, 1993. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.

June 19 is also known as Juneteenth, the anniversary of the formal end of slavery in Texas, the last slaveholding state of the Confederacy. This year marks the 150th anniversary of Juneteenth. Though technically slaves held in Confederate states had … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, Primary Resources | Comments Off on Observing Juneteenth

Journal Citation Reports: new interface and content

1

Journal Citation Reports, a product of Thomson Reuters, has recently added its yearly content update to the Social Science and Science editions and updated the interface to one that is visually appealing, user-friendly, and more consistent with the Web of Science … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, Publications and Research | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Journal Citation Reports: new interface and content

New Resource: Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876

ReadexCaribNewspapersImage

The Georgia State University Library now offers faculty, students, and staff access to Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, a Readex product. Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is a full-text collection of Caribbean newspapers from the early-18th to the mid-19th century, and provides valuable primary resources … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, Journalism, New Resources, Political Science, Primary Resources | Comments Off on New Resource: Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876

New Resources: History Vault: American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975, and History Vault: NAACP Papers

ProQHV

Georgia State University students, faculty, and staff now have access to two new modules in ProQuest’s History Vault product. We now offer access to History Vault: American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975, and History Vault: NAACP Papers. … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, New Resources, Political Science, Primary Resources | 1 Comment